RECORD OF VOTES TAKEN AT THE SPECIAL MEETING OF FALKIRK COUNCIL ON 10 JUNE 2019

Councillors:	David Aitchison	Provost William Buchanan	Cecil Meiklejohn
	David Alexander	Niall Coleman	Lynn Munro
	David Balfour	Joan Coombes	Laura Murtagh
	Lorna Binnie	Jim Flynn	Malcolm Nicol
	Robert Bissett	Paul Garner	Alan Nimmo
	Allyson Black	Nigel Harris	Depute Provost Ann Ritchie
	Jim Blackwood	Gordon Hughes	Pat Reid
	Gary Bouse	Adanna McCue	Robert Spears

Councillors not in attendance: Councillor Collie, Goldie, Grant, Kerr, McLuckie and Patrick.

Agenda Item No. 6	Notice of Motion

Motion

Council agrees that any decision made on the stopping up order to close the Bo'ness Road, Grangemouth will be made by full Council in recognition of its importance.

Moved by: Councillor Coombes Seconded by: Councillor Bissett

Amendment

Council notes with concern the attempt by the mover of the motion to treat one particular application differently from accepted normal practice of the authority.

Council recognises the role played by the author of the motion who has participated in a high profile campaign against this particular application for a stopping up order as well as previous related issues.

Council also recognises the potential implications for the authority if the motion is successful as any perceived bias and predetermination positions adopted may lead to one or more of the following scenarios.

Deviation in the treatment of the application may create a perception of bias and encourage the company to take the application directly to Scottish Ministers thus removing some influence and all decision making.

Council therefore agrees to retain the practices of the scheme of delegation on planning matters introduced in 2009 to ensure all applications are dealt with consistently.

Moved by: Councillor Alexander Seconded by: Councillor Meiklejohn

<u>VOTE</u>

For the motion (8)

Provost W Buchanan	J Blackwood
D Aitchison	J Coombes
R Bissett	A Nimmo
A Black	P Reid

For the amendment (15)

D Alexander	G Hughes
D Balfour	A McCue
L Binnie	C Meiklejohn
G Bouse	L Munro
N Coleman	L Murtagh
J Flynn	M Nicol
P Garner	R Spears
N Harris	

Abstentions (1)

Depute Provost A Ritchie

Decision: Amendment carried.

Notes

- 1. This voting record is subject to approval of the formal minute at the meeting of Falkirk Council on 26 June 2019.
- 2. Only those items where a vote was taken are recorded here. For information about decisions reached on any other items considered at this meeting, please contact Brian Pirie, 01324 506110.