FC73. MEMBERSHIP OF THE LICENSING BOARD AND CIVIC LICENSING COMMITTEE

Council considered a report by the Chief Governance Officer summarising options should it wish to reduce the size of the Licensing Board and the Civic Licensing Committee.

As indicated by the Provost at the start of the meeting, Council also considered the appointment of a member to the Planning Committee following the resignation of Councillor Alexander.

(i) Licensing Board and Civic Licensing Committee

Council had previously noted the resignations of a member each from the Licensing Board and Civic Licensing Committee and had requested a report on the membership of said bodies, should Council wish to reduce their size. Options in regard to the size of each body were provided together with information on the attendance at meetings since June 2012.

Decision

Council agreed to maintain the current constitution and membership of the Licensing Board and Civic Licensing Committee.

(ii) Planning Committee

Council had appointed Councillor Alexander to the Planning Committee in May 2012 as one of the SNP group's positions on the Committee. Provost Reid confirmed that Councillor Alexander had now resigned from the Committee and sought nominations to the vacant post which, in accordance with the decision on political proportionality agreed by Council on 18 May 2012, fell to the SNP Group.

Councillor Alexander, seconded by Councillor Meiklejohn, nominated Councillor McCabe.

Following discussion, Provost Reid, in terms of Standing Order 20.11, determined that there was not a general agreement in regard to the nomination of Councillor McCabe and as such put the nomination to the vote.

In terms of Standing Order 22.4.1, a vote was taken by roll call, there being 31 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For (14) – Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Bird, Carleschi, Chalmers, Coleman, Hughes, Jackson, McNally, Meiklejohn, Oliver, Ritchie, Spears and Turner.

Against (16) – Provost Reid; Depute Provost Patrick; Baillies Buchanan and Paterson; Councillors Black, Blackwood, D Goldie, G Goldie, Gow, MacDonald, McLuckie, Mahoney, Martin, Dr CR Martin, Nicol and Nimmo.

Abstention (1) – Councillor McCabe

Accordingly the nomination was not accepted. Councillor Meiklejohn, seconded by Councillor Carleschi, then nominated Councillor McNally.

Decision

Council agreed to appoint Councillor McNally to the Planning Committee.

Councillors Alexander and Spears left the meeting following consideration of the previous item.