## FC18. AUDIT COMMITTEE

With reference to Minute of Meeting of Falkirk Council held on 28 April 2010 (Paragraph FC11 refers), there was submitted Report (circulated) dated 17 June 2010 by the Chief Executive providing further information on guidance from CIPFA with regard to the Convenership of the Audit Committee.

Councillor C Martin, seconded by Councillor Nimmo moved that:-

"To strengthen the independence of the Audit Committee, Council agrees to proceed toward appointing an external (lay) member to chair the Committee. Council therefore instructs the Chief Executive to report to the next available meeting of Council with a suggested process for making that appointment and with those amendments to the Scheme of Delegation as may be required to give effect to this decision. In the meantime, Council notes the resignation of Councillor Martin from convenership of the Committee and appoints Councillor Patrick as an interim convener pending the further appointment referred to in this motion".

By way of an amendment, Councillor Alexander, seconded by Councillor Coleman, moved that Council:-

"appoints Councillor Coleman as Convener of the Audit Committee and makes appropriate arrangements to reinstate the 2 SNP members who had resigned, to the Committee".

In terms of Standing Order 21.4 (i) a vote was taken by roll call, there being 31 Members present, with voting as undernoted:-

For the Motion (18) – Provost Reid; Depute Provost Black; Councillors Blackwood, Buchanan, Fry, Goldie, Gow, Lemetti, C MacDonald, Mahoney, C Martin, CR Martin, McLuckie, McNeill, Nicol, Nimmo, Patrick and Waddell.

For the Amendment (12) – Councillors Alexander, Carleschi, Coleman, Hughes, Jackson, Kenna, A MacDonald, McNally, Meiklejohn, Oliver, Ritchie and Thomson.

Abstention (1) – Councillor Spears.

Accordingly, **AGREED** the terms of the Motion.