FC63. MOTIONS

The Provost stated that the 3 motions before Council relate to matters within the remit of the Executive but, having consulted with the Council Leader and the Leader of the Opposition, in accordance with Standing Order 31.1, he was of the opinion that special circumstances exist requiring an exception to that general rule and consequently they were dealt with at this meeting.

(ii) Financial Transaction Tax

Councillor C Martin, seconded by Councillor Murray, moved that:-

Council notes as a result of government's cuts programme since 2010 and the impact of those cuts upon ordinary people that an alternative is required on the driven attack on public services – namely the introduction of a levy of a Financial Transaction Tax (FTT) on speculative activities - otherwise known as the Robin Hood Tax.

Falkirk Council therefore calls upon government(s) to enact the FTT and use the revenues from this measure to reverse the ongoing cuts in revenue grants to our Council.

As an amendment, Councillor Meiklejohn, seconded by Councillor Jackson, moved the following in substitution for the motion:-

Council notes that the taxation policies of both Labour and their Conservative allies encourage aggressive tax avoidance by big business and the super-rich making the UK the 4th most unequal society in the developed world.

Council believes that the full range of financial powers over taxation and welfare promised within "the Vow" be honoured and so agrees to write to Chancellor George Osborne asking him to enact and devolve the FTT, thus enabling the Scottish Parliament to collect the revenue and distribute it to local government where it can be used to the greatest benefit to those who are most disadvantaged.

In terms of Standing Order 22.4(i), a vote was taken by roll call, there being 31 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For the motion (15) – Provost Reid; Baillies Buchanan and Paterson; Councillors Black, Blackwood, D Goldie, G Goldie, Gow, MacDonald, McLuckie, Mahoney, C Martin, Dr C R Martin, Murray and Nimmo.

For the amendment (14) – Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Bird, Carleschi, Chalmers, Hughes, Jackson, McCabe, McNally, Meiklejohn, Oliver, Ritchie, Spears and Turner.

Abstained (2) – Depute Provost Patrick and Councillor Nicol.

Decision

Council agreed the motion.