## RECORD OF VOTES TAKEN AT THE SPECIAL MEETING OF FALKIRK COUNCIL ON WEDNESDAY 8 JUNE 2016

#### Councillors in attendance:

David Alexander	Paul Garner	Adrian Mahoney	John Patrick
David Balfour	Dennis Goldie	Craig Martin	Robert Spears
Allyson Black	Gerry Goldie	Dr Craig R Martin	Pat Reid
Jim Blackwood	Linda Gow	Cecil Meiklejohn	Ann Ritchie
William Buchanan	Steven Jackson	Rosie Murray	Sandy Turner
Steven Carleschi	Charles MacDonald	Malcolm Nicol	
Colin Chalmers	Brian McCabe	Alan Nimmo	
Tom Coleman	John McLuckie	Joan Paterson	

Councillors not in attendance:- Stephen Bird, Gordon Hughes and Martin Oliver

Agenda Item: 3	MOTION	

Motion

Council notes that there is increasing concern with regard to this Council's management of public funds in particular recent financial decisions that have caused reputational damage to the Council.

As a result there is a lack of confidence in the current leadership of the Council, therefore we now call on the Leader of the Administration to accept responsibility and to stand down from his position.

#### Moved by: T Coleman Seconded by: S Jackson

### Amendment

Council confirms its support for the Leader of the Council and his oversight of financial matters which has seen the Council deliver successive balanced budgets without major closure and major loss of jobs and services despite the worst recession in our lifetime, massive cuts from Westminster and cuts in grant together with excessive financial controls from Holyrood.

Council expresses its concern at the constant negativity of the SNP Opposition, supported by the NAIG group which, in fact, has aligned itself with the SNP, and their failure to participate fully in the democratic process since the 2012 elections.

Council expresses its further concern at the apparent inability of the Opposition to make unpopular but necessary decisions, their distraction from local issues due to the independence referendum, their support for the centralisation policies of the Scottish government and consequent weakening of local democracy and their financial ineptitude as demonstrated by their 2016-17 alternative budget.

Moved by: J Paterson Seconded by: C MacDonald

# <u>VOTE</u>

## For the motion (12)

D Alexander	S Jackson
D Balfour	B McCabe
S Carleschi	C Meiklejohn
C Chalmers	A Ritchie
T Coleman	R Spears
P Garner	S Turner

## For the amendment (17)

A Black	C Martin
J Blackwood	C R Martin
W Buchanan	R Murray
D Goldie	M Nicol
G Goldie	A Nimmo
L Gow	J Paterson
C MacDonald	P Reid
J McLuckie	J Patrick
A Mahoney	

## **DECISION:** Amendment carried

Notes:

- 1. This voting record is subject to approval of the formal minute at the next meeting of Council on 22 June 2016.
- 2. Only those items where a vote was taken are recorded here. For information about decisions reached on any other items considered at this meeting, please contact Brian Pirie, Democratic Services Manager on 01324 506110, email <u>brian.pirie@falkirk.gov.uk</u>.