## FC12. MOTION

Councillor Coleman, seconded by Councillor Jackson, moved:-

Council notes that there is increasing concern with regard to this Council's management of public funds in particular recent financial decisions that have caused reputational damage to the Council.

As a result there is a lack of confidence in the current leadership of the Council, therefore we now call on the Leader of the Administration to accept responsibility and to stand down from his position.

As an amendment, in substitution for the motion, Baillie Paterson, seconded by Councillor MacDonald, moved that:-

Council confirms its support for the Leader of the Council and his oversight of financial matters which has seen the Council deliver successive balanced budgets without major closure and major loss of jobs and services despite the worst recession in our lifetime, massive cuts from Westminster and cuts in grant together with excessive financial controls from Holyrood.

Council expresses its concern at the constant negativity of the SNP Opposition, supported by the NAIG group which, in fact, has aligned itself with the SNP, and their failure to participate fully in the democratic process since the 2012 elections.

Council expresses its further concern at the apparent inability of the Opposition to make unpopular but necessary decisions, their distraction from local issues due to the independence referendum, their support for the centralisation policies of the Scottish government and consequent weakening of local democracy and their financial ineptitude as demonstrated by their 2016-17 alternative budget.

On a division 12 members voted for the motion and 17 voted for the amendment, with voting as follows:-

For the motion (12) – Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Carleschi, Chalmers, Coleman, Garner, Jackson, McCabe, Meiklejohn, Ritchie, Spears and Turner.

For the amendment (17) - Provost Reid; Depute Provost Patrick; Baillies Buchanan and Paterson; and Councillors Black, Blackwood, D Goldie, G Goldie, Gow, MacDonald, McLuckie, Mahoney, C Martin, Dr C R Martin, Murray, Nicol and Nimmo.

## Decision

Council agreed the amendment.