FC23. Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland: Fifth Review of Electoral Arrangements

Council considered a report by the Chief Executive presenting the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland's recommendations following its Fifth Statutory Review of Electoral Arrangements.

Council had considered and rejected the Commission's proposals in regard to the Falkirk Council area on 27 May 2015 (ref FC14) advising the Commission of its position that the status quo should remain (with one minor exception to address a boundary anomaly which affected a handful of voters in wards 4 and 5).

The Commission had considered the Council's response on 7 July 2015 but had made no change to its published proposals, namely that the number of Councillors should reduce from 32 to 30 with the corresponding amendments to ward boundaries. Public consultation on the proposals took place between June and October 2015 with the Commission's final recommendations being made to the Scottish Ministers in May 2016.

COSLA was due to consider the Commission's recommendations at a Convention meeting on 24 June 2016 and, in the meantime, had sought clarification of the Ministers'plans to respond to the recommendations. In addition the Chief Executive advised that Councils had been invited to support a letter from East Renfrewshire Council to the Minister for Parliamentary Business in regard to the recommendations.

Councillor C Martin, seconded by Councillor Meiklejohn, moved that:-

Council agrees:-

- (1) to oppose the Boundary Commission's recommendations and adhere to the Council's position to maintain 32 elected members; and
- (2) to endorse and sign the letter from East Renfrewshire Council to the Minister for Parliamentary Business.

As an amendment, Councillor Nicol, seconded by Depute Provost Patrick, moved in substitution for the motion, that:-

Council supports the recommendations of the Boundary Commission for Scotland's Fifth Review of Electoral Arrangements as detailed in sections 2.3 to 2.6 of the report

On a division, 28 members voted for the motion and 2 voted for the amendment, with voting as follows:-

For the motion (28) – Provost Reid; Baillies Buchanan and Paterson; Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Bird, Black, Blackwood, Carleschi, Chalmers, Coleman, Garner, D Goldie, G Goldie, Gow, Hughes, Jackson, MacDonald, McCabe, McLuckie, Mahoney, C Martin, Dr C R Martin, Meiklejohn, Murray, Nimmo, Oliver and Ritchie.

For the amendment (2) – Depute Provost Patrick and Councillor Nicol.

Decision

Council agreed the motion.