Agenda Item 3 Election of Falkirk Councillors

Falkirk Council

Title: Election of Falkirk Councillors

Meeting: Falkirk Council

Date: 24 May 2017

Submitted by: Chief Executive

1. Purpose of Report

1.1 This report advises of those councillors who were elected to Falkirk Council following the Local Government Election on 4 May 2017 and the political composition of the Council.

2. Recommendation

2.1 Council is invited to note the results of the Local Government Election held on 4 May 2017 and the political composition of the Council.

3. Result of Election

3.1 The undernoted councillors stand elected to Falkirk Council following the election which took place on 4 May 2017.

3.2

	Ward	Councillor	Description
	vai d	Councilio	Description
1.	Bo'ness and Blackness	David Aitchison	Scottish Labour Party
		Lynn Munro	Scottish Conservative and Unionist
		Ann Ritchie	Scottish National Party (SNP)
2.	Grangemouth	David Balfour	Scottish National Party (SNP)
		Allyson Black	Scottish Labour Party
		Robert Spears	Independent
3.	Denny and Banknock	Jim Blackwood	Scottish Labour Party
		Fiona Elizabeth Collie	Scottish National Party (SNP)
		Paul Garner	Scottish National Party (SNP)
		Nigel Harris	Scottish Conservative and Unionist

4	0 1/2	0 5	0 (() 1 . 1 . 1
4.	Carse, Kinnaird and Tryst	Gary Bouse	Scottish National Party (SNP)
		Joan Margaret	Scottish Labour
		Coombes	Party
		Jim Flynn	Scottish
			Conservative and
			Unionist
		Laura Murtagh	Scottish National
			Party (SNP)
5.	Bonnybridge and Larbert	Billy Buchanan	Independent
		Tom Coleman	Scottish National Party (SNP)
		David Grant	Scottish
			Conservative and
			Unionist
6.	Falkirk North	David Alexander	Scottish National Party (SNP)
		Robert Bissett	Scottish Labour
			Party
		Dennis Goldie	Scottish Labour
			Party
		Cecil Meiklejohn	Scottish National
			Party (SNP)
7.	Falkirk South	Lorna Catherine Binnie	Scottish National Party (SNP)
		John Patrick	Scottish
		John Lation	Conservative and
			Unionist
		Pat Reid	Scottish Labour
			Party
8.	Lower Braes	Adanna Bridget	Scottish National
		McCue	Party (SNP)
		Malcolm Nicol	Scottish
			Conservative and
		A	Unionist
		Alan Nimmo	Scottish Labour
			Party
9.	Upper Braes	Gordon Hughes	Scottish National Party (SNP)
		James Kerr	Scottish
			Conservative and
			Unionist
		John McLuckie	Scottish Labour
		JOHN MOLGONIO	Party
			raity

4. Political Composition of the Council

4.1 The composition of the Council is Scottish National Party (12), Labour (9), Conservative (7) and Independents (2).

5. Consultation

5.1 This report has not been subject to consultation.

6. Implications

Financial

6.1 There are no financial implications arising from the report.

Resources

6.2 There are no resource implications arising from the report.

Legal

6.3 There are no legal implications arising from the report.

Risk

6.4 There are no risk implications arising from the report.

Equalities

6.5 An equality and poverty impact assessment was not carried out.

Sustainability/Environmental Impact

6.6 No sustainability assessment has been completed as part of compiling the report.

7. Conclusions

7.1 Following the Local Government Election held on 4 May 2017 30 councillors were returned to serve on Falkirk Council as set out in the table at paragraph 3.2.

Chief Executive

Author – Jack Frawley, Committee Services Officer 01324 506116,

jack.frawley@falkirk.gov.uk

Date: 8 May 2017

Appendices:

None.

List of Background Papers:

No papers were relied on in the preparation of this report in terms of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973.