AGENDA ITEM

FALKIRK COUNCIL

Subject:RESIGNATION OF COUNCILLORS FROM COMMITTEESMeeting:FALKIRK COUNCILDate:8 OCTOBER 2008Author:ACTING DIRECTOR OF LAW AND ADMINISTRATION

1. INTRODUCTION

1.1 The purpose of this Report is to advise Council of the following resignations of Members from Committees of the Council.

2. POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

- 2.1 Councillor Nimmo has intimated his resignation from the Policy and Resources Committee of which he was Depute Convener.
- 2.2 The Policy and Resources Committee comprises 8 Members and the current membership, including the vacancy, is listed below:-

Provost Reid Depute Provost Black Councillor Alexander Councillor Gow (Convener) Councillor Jackson Councillor Kenna Councillor Spears Vacancy

3. ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE/REGULATORY COMMITTEE

- 3.1. Councillor Fry has intimated his resignation from both the Economic Development Committee and the Regulatory Committee of which he was Depute Convener.
- 3.2. Both Committees comprise 12 Members, and the memberships are noted below, including the vacancy.

Economic Development Committee

Councillor W Buchanan Councillor S Carleschi Councillor T Coleman Councillor G Goldie Councillor G Hughes Councillor J Lemetti (Depute Convener) Councillor J McLuckie Councillor A MacDonald Councillor C Martin (Convener) Councillor M Oliver Councillor J Patrick Vacancy

Regulatory Committee

Councillor W Buchanan (Convener) Councillor S Carleschi Councillor H Constable Councillor J Constable Councillor J Lemetti Councillor A MacDonald Councillor A McNeill Councillor A Mahoney Councillor C Martin Councillor M Nicol Councillor M Oliver Vacancy

4. EDUCATION AND LEISURE/INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

- 4.1 Councillor C Martin has intimated his resignation from the post of Depute Convener on both the Education and Leisure Committee and the Investment Committee. If Councillor Martin remains as a member of the Committees, albeit not as Depute Convener, the latter post on each of the committees will fall to be filled from the existing members thereof.
- 4.2 The Education and Leisure Committee comprises 12 Elected Members (this Committee also includes other co-opted representatives) and the Investment Committee consists of 6 Members. Membership of each is listed below.

Education and Leisure Committee

Councillor J Blackwood Councillor S Carleschi Councillor T Coleman Councillor G Hughes Councillor J Lemetti Councillor A MacDonald Councillor J McNally Councillor A McNeill Councillor C Martin/Vacancy Councillor C R Martin Councillor J Patrick Councillor A Waddell (Convener)

Investment Committee

Depute Provost Black Councillor T Coleman Councillor A MacDonald Councillor A McNeill Councillor C Martin/Vacancy Councillor J Patrick (Convener)

5. SUMMARY

5.1 In accordance with the decision of Council at the Statutory Meeting in May 2007 relating to the appointment of Members to Committees, which accepted the general principles of political proportionality as set out in Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing

Act 1989, the Member vacancies set out above are available to be filled by Members from the Labour Group.

6. **RECOMMENDATIONS**

6.1 It is recommended that Council notes the resignations as detailed above and considers the appointment of Members to the vacant positions on committees, and appointments to the vacant posts of Depute Convener.

Acting Director of Law and Administration

Date: 30 September 2008

Contact Officer: Derek Kelly, Tel: 01324 506128

LIST OF BACKGROUND PAPERS

1. Letters of resignation.

Any person wishing to inspect the background papers listed above should telephone Falkirk 01324 506128 and ask for Derek Kelly.