Freedom of Falkirk

Councillor Anslow, seconded by Councillor Nimmo moved that:-

The Royal Regiment of Scotland (SCOTS) was formed in March 2006 when all of our historical antecedent regiments; Royal Scots, Royal Highland Fusiliers, King's Own Scottish Borderers, Black Watch, Highlanders (Seaforth, Gordons & Camerons) and Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders were amalgamated into a single large Scottish Regiment.

Many of the antecedent regiments had over the previous decades been granted the Freedoms of several Scottish (and in some cases overseas) Local Authority areas, cities or towns. The Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders were awarded the Freedom of Falkirk in 1972.

Since its formation 16 Scottish Local Authorities / Cities have the granted SCOTS Freedoms of their Local Authority Area /city.

Council is asked to award the freedom of Falkirk to the SCOTS in recognition of its long and proud association with Falkirk. Formally honouring the historical relationship between the SCOTS and Falkirk as well as lay the foundations for the future.

Decision

Council agreed the motion.