FC47. Appointments

Council considered a report by the Director of Transformation, Communities and Corporate Services inviting Council to appoint two Baillies, a member to the Forth Green Freeport Governance Board and the convener of the Scrutiny Committee (External).

Bailies

Councillor Patrick nominated Councillor Buchanan.

Councillor Bundy nominated Councillor Kerr.

There being no further nominations Councillors Buchanan and Kerr were appointed as Baillies.

Forth Green Freeport Board

The Provost sought nominations for the position on the Forth Green Freeport Governance Board.

Councillor Garner nominated Councillor Meiklejohn.

Councillor Stainbank nominated Councillor Nimmo.

Councillor Patrick nominated Councillor Bundy.

Councillor McCabe nominated Councillor Spears.

In terms of Standing Order 23, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 29 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Meiklejohn (10) – Depute Provost Balfour; and Councillors Binnie, Bouse, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Forrest, Garner, Meiklejohn and Sinclair.

For Councillor Nimmo (10) – Provost Bissett; and Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Buchanan, Hannah, Kelly, Nimmo, Paterson, Redmond and Stainbank.

For Councillor Bundy (5) – Councillor Brown, Bundy, Flynn, Kerr and Patrick.

For Councillor Spears (3) – Councillors McCabe, Ritchie and Spears.

Abstention (1) – Councillor Murtagh.

As no candidate had achieved an overall majority the candidate who received the lowest number of votes, Councillor Spears, was struck out and a fresh vote would taken between the remaining three candidates.

Prior to commencement of the next voting stage, Councillor Bundy withdrew his candidacy. The vote was then taken between the two remaining candidates.

Council adjourned at 4.05pm and reconvened at 4.20pm with all members present as per the sederunt.

For Councillor Meiklejohn (12) – Depute Provost Balfour; and Councillors Binnie, Bouse, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Forrest, Garner, Kerr, Meiklejohn, Sinclair and Spears.

For Councillor Nimmo (13) – Provost Bissett; and Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Brown, Buchanan, Flynn, Hannah, Kelly, Nimmo, Paterson, Redmond, Ritchie and Stainbank.

Abstentions (4) – Councillors Bundy, McCabe, Murtagh and Patrick.

Councillor Nimmo was appointed as member to the Forth Green Freeport Governance Board.

Scrutiny Committee (External) - Convener

The Provost sought nominations for the position of Convener of the Scrutiny Committee (External).

Councillor Redmond nominated Councillor Kelly.

There being no further nominations Councillor Kelly was appointed Convener of the Scrutiny Committee (External).

Decision

Council agreed to appoint:-

- (1) Councillors Buchanan and Kerr as Baillles;
- (2) Councillor Nimmo as member to the Forth Green Freeport Governance Board, and
- (3) Councillor Kelly as the convener of the Scrutiny Committee (External).