FALKIRK COUNCIL

Subject: ELECTION OF FALKIRK COUNCILLORS

Meeting: FALKIRK COUNCIL

Date: 18 May 2012

Author: RETURNING OFFICER

1. INTRODUCTION

1.1 On 3 May 2012, ordinary elections were held in respect of the 9 wards of Falkirk Council.

2. RESULTS OF ELECTIONS

2.1 The undernoted Councillors stand elected to Falkirk Council following the elections which took place on 3 May 2012.

	Ward	Councillor	Description
1.	Bo'ness and Blackness	Adrian Mahoney	Labour
		Ann Ritchie	SNP
		Sandy Turner	SNP
2.	Grangemouth	David Balfour	SNP
		Allyson Black	Labour
		Joan Paterson	Labour
		Robert Spears	Independent
3.	Denny and Banknock	Jim Blackwood	Labour
	•	Brian McCabe	Independent
		John McNally	SNP
		Martin Oliver	SNP
4.	Carse, Kinnaird and Tryst	Stephen Bird	SNP
	·	Charles MacDonald	Labour
		Craig Martin	Labour
		Steven Carleschi	SNP
5.	Bonnybridge and Larbert	William Buchanan	Independent
	-	Tom Coleman	SNP
		Linda Gow	Labour
6.	Falkirk North	David Alexander	SNP
		Craig R Martin	Labour
		Cecil Meiklejohn	SNP
		Pat Reid	Labour

7.	Falkirk South	Colin Chalmers	SNP
		Dennis Goldie	Labour
		Gerry Goldie	Labour
		John Patrick	Conservative
8.	Lower Braes	Steven Jackson	SNP
		Malcolm Nicol	Conservative
		Alan Nimmo	Labour
9.	Upper Braes	Gordon Hughes	SNP
		John McLuckie	Labour
		Rosie Murray	Labour

3. POLITICAL COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCIL

3.1 Accordingly the composition of the Council is Labour (14), Scottish National Party (13), Conservative (2) and Independents (3x1).

4. **RECOMMENDATION**

4.1 It is recommended that Council notes the results of the elections held on 3 May 2012 and the political composition of the Council.

Returning Officer

Date: 12 May 2012

Contact Officer: Brian Pirie, Tel: 01324 506110