Community Councils are made up of local people who give time to, and have a genuine interest, in the wellbeing of their community. They consult the local community on all issues affecting them and tell us, and other public bodies, the views of local people. Community Councils are consulted on licensing and planning applications within their area.

There are currently 18 active Community Councils in the Falkirk Council area out of a possible 23. Each active Community Council must meet in public at least nine times a year.

Their main role is to represent the views of their community. Most Community Councils also involve themselves in a wide range of local activities - such as fundraising and running community events.

The most recent Community Council elections were held in October 2013. The next Community Council elections will take place in December 2017.

Community Councils

Name Membership
Airth Parish 6
Avonbridge and Standburn 5
Bainsford, Langlees and New Carron 6
Banknock, Haggs and Longcroft 7
Blackness 4
Bo'ness 10
Bonnybridge 6
Brightons 4
Camelon, Bantaskine and Tamfourhill - Inactive 0
Carron and Carronshore (excluding Skinflats) - Inactive 0
Denny and District 8
Falkirk Central - Inactive 0
Falkirk South (covering Hallglen, Glen Village and Lochgreen) 5
Grahamston, Middlefield and Westfield 7
Grangemouth (including Skinflats) 12
Larbert and Stenhousemuir 8
Lower Braes (covering Laurieston, Westquarter and Redding) 6
Maddiston 6
Polmont 7
Slamannan and Limerigg - Inactive 0
Reddingmuirhead and Wallacestone 4
Shieldhill and California 5
Whitecross - Inactive 0

Community Council Forum

The Community Council Forum consists of the convenors of all of the active Community Councils in the area. It meets four times a year to discuss common issues on the running of Community Councils, such as claiming grants, using new media, etc in order to improve the representation of the Falkirk Council area’s communities.