## FC35. STRATEGIC HOUSING INVESTMENT PLAN AND COUNCIL HOUSE NEW BUILD

In terms of the Council's Scheme of Delegation, this item had been called in to Council by Councillors Alexander, Bird and Chalmers.

There was submitted (circulated) (a) Extract of Minute of Meeting of the Housing and Social Care Committee held on 28 August 2012, and (b) Report by the Director of Corporate and Neighbourhood Service to the said meeting presenting a draft Strategic Local Programme and draft Strategic Housing Improvement Plan (SHIP) for 2012-2015 for approval.

Councillor Goldie, seconded by Councillor Black moved that Council agrees:-

- (1) the Strategic Local Programme attached as Appendix 1 to the report and that this be submitted to the Scottish Government as required by 31 August 2012;
- (2) the draft Strategic Housing Investment Plan attached as Appendix 2 to the report, and
- (3) to further appraisal and feasibility work being undertaken on the potential Council new build sites listed in paragraph 4.4 of the report and that a report be submitted to the next meeting of the Housing and Social Care Committee on the outcomes of the assessments.

By way of an amendment, Councillor Alexander, seconded by Councillor Coleman, moved the terms of the motion subject to the substitution of paragraph (2) with the following:-

- (2) Agree the SHIP with the following alterations:
  - 2.1 Council agrees to investigate the use of up to 5% of the Pension Fund to facilitate new build Council housing and agrees to report back to this effect to the Housing and Social Care Committee, and
  - 2.2 Council agrees to a full public consultation over the Denny Police Station site before a final decision on the future of the site is determined.

In terms of Standing Order 21.4 (i), a vote was taken by roll call, there being 32 Members present with voting as undernoted:-

For the motion (17) – Provost Reid; Depute Provost Patrick; Councillors Black, Blackwood, Buchanan, D Goldie, G Goldie, Gow, MacDonald, McLuckie, Mahoney, C Martin, Dr C R Martin, Murray, Nicol, Nimmo and Paterson.

For the amendment (15) – Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Bird, Carleschi, Chalmers, Coleman, Hughes, Jackson, McCabe, McNally, Meiklejohn, Oliver, Ritchie, Spears and Turner.

Accordingly, **AGREED** the terms of the motion.