#### RECORD OF VOTES TAKEN AT THE MEETING OF FALKIRK COUNCIL ON 7 OCTOBER 2015

#### Councillors in attendance:

David Alexander	Tom Coleman	Brian McCabe	Alan Nimmo
David Balfour	Paul Garner	John McLuckie	Martin Oliver
Stephen Bird	Dennis Goldie	Adrian Mahoney	Joan Paterson
Allyson Black	Gerry Goldie	Craig Martin	John Patrick
Jim Blackwood	Linda Gow	Dr Craig R Martin	Pat Reid
William Buchanan	Gordon Hughes	Cecil Meiklejohn	Ann Ritchie
Steven Carleschi	Steven Jackson	Rosie Murray	Robert Spears
Colin Chalmers	Charles MacDonald	Malcolm Nicol	Sandy Turner

## Agenda Item: 7 Subject: FALKIRK COUNCIL BEST VALUE REPORT

#### MOTION

Council agrees to:

- (1) note the recognition by the Commission that the Council provides generally good services;
- (2) acknowledge the need to find savings of c. £46m over the next 3 years as set out in more detail in the report on the revenue fund framework which is also under consideration at this meeting;
- (3) adopt the Improvement Plan, as appended to the report, and note that there will be further discussion among the Leader of the Council, the Leader of the Opposition and the Provost regarding its planned implementation;
- (4) the terms of reference for the Cross Party Budget Working Group being determined by the Group at its first meeting, with the composition of the Group being as follows;
  - a. Labour Group b. SNP Group
- 3 members 3 members
- Conservative Group 1 member
- c. Conservative Groupd. Non-Aligned Independent Group
- d. Non-Aligned Independent Group 1 member e. Independent 1 member
- (5) the Leaders of the Council and the Opposition providing political leadership on the Business Transformation Board;
- (6) a report on progress with the actions set out in the Improvement Plan will be submitted to Council in March 2016,
- (7) note that the review of Standing Orders currently underway will be subject of a report to Council in December 2015.

#### Moved by: C Martin Seconded by: J Paterson

**AMENDMENT** To include the words " a representative of the Non-Aligned Independent Group" between the words "opposition" and "and" in clause (3)

Moved by: R Spears Seconded by: B McCabe

# VOTE

# For the motion (30)

David Alexander	Charles MacDonald
David Balfour	John McLuckie
Stephen Bird	Adrian Mahoney
Allyson Black	Craig Martin
Jim Blackwood	Dr Craig R Martin
William Buchanan	Cecil Meiklejohn
Steven Carleschi	Rosie Murray
Colin Chalmers	Malcolm Nicol
Tom Coleman	Alan Nimmo
Paul Garner	Martin Oliver
Dennis Goldie	Joan Paterson
Gerry Goldie	John Patrick
Linda Gow	Pat Reid
Gordon Hughes	Ann Ritchie
Steven Jackson	Sandy Turner

#### **DECISION:** Motion carried.

Agenda Item: 9	Subject: GENERAL FUND REVENUE BUDGET FRAMEWORK 2016/17 &
	2018/19

# MOTION

Council agrees to:

- (1) note the Revenue Budget Framework for 2016/17 2018/19, with the exception of SW7 relating to Torwoodhall which is removed from the list of options;
- (2) the replacement Children's Services saving set out at para 5.2.5 of the report subject to the Council's EPIA process and any other necessary consultation, and
- (3) note the progression of the Equality & Poverty Impact Assessments and approve the necessary consultations and workflows set out in the report to facilitate the preparation of a 2 year budget.

#### Moved by: C Martin Seconded by: J Paterson

**AMENDMENT** To add the words "subject to a report to the Budget Working Group" at the end of clause (1) and to amend clause (2) read as follows:

(2) to not agree the replacement Children's Services saving, as detailed at para 5.2.5 of the report at this stage pending further consideration by the Budget Working Group of the 2016/17 savings options.

Moved by: C Meiklejohn Seconded by: S Jackson

## For the amendment (2)

B McCabe R Spears

# <u>VOTE</u>

# For the motion (18)

Allyson Black	Craig Martin
Jim Blackwood	Dr Craig R Martin
William Buchanan	Rosie Murray
Dennis Goldie	Malcolm Nicol
Gerry Goldie	Alan Nimmo
Linda Gow	Joan Paterson
Charles MacDonald	John Patrick
John McLuckie	Pat Reid
Adrian Mahoney	Robert Spears

# **DECISION: Motion carried**

### Note

# This voting record is subject to approval of the formal minute at the next meeting of Council on 16 December 2015.

# For the amendment (13)

David Alexander	Gordon Hughes
David Balfour	Steven Jackson
Stephen Bird	Brian McCabe
Steven Carleschi	Cecil Meiklejohn
Colin Chalmers	Ann Ritchie
Tom Coleman	Sandy Turner
Paul Garner	