FC38. Falkirk Community Trust – Director Appointment

Council considered a report by the Chief Executive advising that Councillor Dennis Goldie's appointment as a director on the board of Falkirk Community Trust was due for renewal.

The Council had appointed 5 members as directors to the board of Falkirk Community Trust. These were Provost Reid, Baillie Buchanan and Councillors Goldie, Gow and Spears. In terms of the Trust's Articles of Association appointments are for a period of two years and can be extended for two further periods of two years.

Councillor Goldie had been appointed in June 2012 and reappointed in June 2014. Council was invited to reappoint Councillor Goldie for a third term or to appoint another member in his place.

Councillor C Martin, seconded by Baillie Buchanan, moved that Council:-

- (1) reappoints Councillor D Goldie as a Council appointed director on the Board of the Trust, and
- (2) authorises the Chief Executive to provide written notice to the Trust of the appointment.

As an amendment, Councillor Spears, seconded by Councillor Chalmers, moved the following in substitution for clause (1) of the motion:-

(1) appoints Councillor McCabe as a Director of the Trust in place of Councillor Goldie.

In terms of Standing Order 22.4(i), the vote was taken by roll call, there being 31 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For the motion (17) – Provost Reid; Depute Provost Patrick; Baillies Buchanan and Paterson; Councillors Black, Blackwood, D Goldie, G Goldie, Gow, MacDonald, McLuckie, Mahoney, C Martin, Dr C R Martin, Murray, Nicol and Nimmo.

For the amendment (14) – Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Bird, Carleschi, Chalmers, Coleman, Garner, Hughes, Jackson, McCabe, Meiklejohn, Oliver, Ritchie and Spears.

Decision

Council agreed the motion.