RECORD OF VOTES TAKEN AT THE MEETING OF FALKIRK COUNCIL ON WEDNESDAY 24 May 2017

Councillors in attendance:

David Aitchison	Fiona Collie	John McLuckie
David Alexander	Joan Coombes	Cecil Meiklejohn
David Balfour	Jim Flynn	Lynn Munro
Lorna Binnie	Paul Garner	Laura Murtagh
Robert Bissett	Dennis Goldie	Malcolm Nicol
Allyson Black	David Grant	Alan Nimmo
Jim Blackwood	Nigel Harris	John Patrick
Gary Bouse	Gordon Hughes	Pat Reid
Billy Buchanan	James Kerr	Ann Ritchie
Tom Coleman	Adanna McCue	Robert Spears

Subject: Appointment of Provost and Leader of the Agenda Item: 4 Council

Council voted on the appointment of the Provost. Two nominations were received as follows:-

Councillor Coleman - nominated by Councillor Meiklejohn

Councillor Patrick - nominated by Councillor Nicol

VOTE

For Councillor Coleman (13) For Councillor Patrick (8) Abstentions (9)

D Alexander	G Hughes
D Balfour	A McCue
L Binnie	C Meiklejohn
G Bouse	L Murtagh
T Coleman	A Ritchie
F Collie	R Spears
P Garner	
	-

B Buchanan	J Kerr
J Flynn	L Munro
D Grant	M Nicol
N Harris	J Patrick

D Aitchison	D Goldie
R Bissett	J McLuckie
A Black	A Nimmo
J Blackwood	P Reid
J Coombes	

DECISION: Councillor Coleman was appointed Provost.

Agenda Item: 4	Subject: Appointment of Provost and Leader of the
	Council

Council voted on the appointment of the Depute Provost. Two nominations were received as follows:-

Councillor Ritchie - nominated by Councillor Meiklejohn

Councillor Munro – nominated by Councillor Nicol

<u> VOTE</u>

For Councillor Ritchie (13)

D Alexander	G Hughes
D Balfour	A McCue
L Binnie	C Meiklejohn
G Bouse	L Murtagh
T Coleman	A Ritchie
F Collie	R Spears
P Garner	

Health and Social Care

For Councillor Munro (8)

Abstentions (9)

D Goldie

P Reid

J McLuckie A Nimmo

B Buchanan	J Kerr		D Aitchison
J Flynn	L Munro		R Bissett
D Grant	M Nicol		A Black
N Harris	J Patrick		J Blackwood
		-	J Coombes

DECISION: Councillor Ritchie was appointed Depute Provost.

Agenda Item:		Subject: Appointment of Provost and Leader of the Council			
Council voted on the appointment of the Leader of the Council. Two nominations were received as follows:-			were received		
	lejohn – nominated	•	Garner		
Councillor Nicol	– nominated by Co	ouncillor Flynn			
		<u>VOT</u>	E		
For Councillo	r Meiklejohn (13)	For Councill	or Nicol (8)	Abstentions (9)
D Alexander	G Hughes	B Buchanan	J Kerr	D Aitchison	D Goldie
D Balfour	A McCue	J Flynn	L Munro	R Bissett	J McLuckie
L Binnie	C Meiklejohn	D Grant	M Nicol	A Black	A Nimmo
G Bouse	L Murtagh	N Harris	J Patrick	J Blackwood	P Reid
T Coleman	A Ritchie			J Coombes	
F Collie	R Spears				J
P Garner					
DECISION: Co	ouncillor Meiklejoh	nn was appoin	ted Leader o	f the Council	
Agenda Item:	5 S	ubject: Standi	na Orders		
			J		
Council agrees:	-				
1) The Exec	utive and Educatior	n Executive to b	be reduced fro	om 12 to 10 elected	members with
 The Executive and Education Executive to be reduced from 12 to 10 elected members with a better representation of 6 administration and 4 opposition; 					
(2) Portfolio remits to be realigned to match Service areas and create a portfolio that covers					
across service areas for Performance, Improvement and Best Value;					
(3) A further report to be provided on the remit for each of the realigned portfolio areas which			lio areas which		
will be brought back to Council					
Portfolios					
Convener (Leader of the Council) including resources					
Economic and Development Services (including FCT)					
Corporate and Housing Services					
	's Services (includir		tice)		1
	ment Performance	•	1		1
	Lealth and Carial Cara				

- (4) Joint Consultative Committee Terms of Reference to be reviewed in consultation with the Trade Unions, and
- (5) Baillies to be removed as their role currently adds no real value to the Council

Moved by: Councillor Meiklejohn Seconded by: Councillor Garner

There was no general agreement on the motion. A vote was therefore taken for or against the motion.

<u> VOTE</u>

For the motion (13)

D Alexander	G Hughes
D Balfour	A McCue
L Binnie	C Meiklejohn
G Bouse	L Murtagh
T Coleman	A Ritchie
F Collie	R Spears
P Garner	

Against the motion (17)

D Aitchison	N Harris
R Bissett	J Kerr
A Black	J McLuckie
J Blackwood	L Munro
B Buchanan	M Nicol
J Coombes	A Nimmo
J Flynn	J Patrick
D Goldie	P Reid
D Grant	

DECISION: Motion not carried.

Agenda Item:6Subject: Membership of Committees Board and Significant
Statutory Bodies

Having agreed the political composition of its committees and appointed conveners to them and where able to do so members to committees and other bodies, Council voted on the nomination of a member to Forth Valley Health Board. Two nominations were received as follows:-

Councillor Spears - nominated by Councillor Meiklejohn

Councillor Black nominated by Councillor Goldie

<u>VOTE</u>

For Councillor Spears (13)

D Alexander	G Hughes
D Balfour	A McCue
L Binnie	C Meiklejohn
G Bouse	L Murtagh
T Coleman	A Ritchie
F Collie	R Spears
P Garner	

For Councillor Black (17)

D Aitchison	N Harris
R Bissett	J Kerr
A Black	J McLuckie
J Blackwood	L Munro
B Buchanan	M Nicol
J Coombes	A Nimmo
J Flynn	J Patrick
D Goldie	P Reid
D Grant	

DECISION: Councillor Black nominated to Forth Valley Health Board.

Agenda Item: 8		Subject: Appointment to External Organisations					
Council agreed to appoint to COSLA Convention and COSLA Leaders Group and also agreed the political proportionality of its appointments to the Stirlingshire Educational Trust. With the exception of the Veterans Champion, Council agreed that the remaining appointments to external organisations would be continued to the next meeting. Council voted on the appointment of the Veterans Champion. Two nominations were received as follows:- Councillor Spears – nominated by Councillor Meiklejohn Councillor Patrick – nominated by Councillor Nicol							
VOTE							
For Councillo	For Councillor Patrick (8)			Abstentions (9)			
D Alexander	G Hughes	BE	Buchanan	J Kerr		D Aitchison	D Goldie
D Balfour	A McCue	JF	lynn	L Munro		R Bissett	J McLuckie
L Binnie	C Meiklejohn	DO	Grant	M Nicol		A Black	A Nimmo

P Garner

G Bouse

F Collie

T Coleman

DECISION: Councillor Spears appointed Veterans Champion.

N Harris

L Murtagh

A Ritchie

R Spears

Notes

1. This voting record is subject to approval of the formal minute at the next normal meeting of Council on 28 June 2017.

J Patrick

J Blackwood

J Coombes

P Reid

2. Only those items where a vote was taken are recorded here. For information about decisions reached on any other items considered at this meeting, please contact Brian Pirie, Democratic Services Manager, 01324 506110