#### FC6. Appointment of Provost and Leader of the Council

Council considered a report by the Director of Corporate and Housing Services which invited Council to appoint a Provost and a Leader of the Council. Further, the report invited Council to consider making appointments to the positions of Depute Provost and Baillie.

The Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 requires that each Council elects a convener from among its councillors at its first meeting following an ordinary election. In Falkirk the convener of the Council has traditionally been known as the Provost.

## (a) Appointment of the Provost

The Returning Officer sought nominations for the post of Provost.

Councillor Meiklejohn nominated Councillor Coleman.

Councillor Nicol nominated Councillor Patrick.

In terms of Standing Order 22.1, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 30 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Coleman (13) – Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Binnie, Bouse, Coleman, Collie, Garner, Hughes, McCue, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Ritchie and Spears.

For Councillor Patrick (8) – Councillors Buchanan, Flynn, Grant, Harris, Kerr, Munro, Nicol and Patrick.

Abstentions (9) – Councillors Aitchison, Bissett, Black, Blackwood, Coombes, Goldie, McLuckie, Nimmo and Reid.

Councillor Coleman was elected Provost of Falkirk Council. Provost Coleman assumed the chair.

# (b) Appointment of the Depute Provost

The Provost sought nominations for the post of Depute Provost.

Councillor Meiklejohn then nominated Councillor Ritchie.

Councillor Nicol nominated Councillor Munro.

In terms of Standing Order 22.1, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 30 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Ritchie (13) – Provost Coleman; Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Binnie, Bouse, Collie, Garner, Hughes, McCue, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Ritchie and Spears.

For Councillor Munro (8) – Councillors Buchanan, Flynn, Grant, Harris, Kerr, Munro, Nicol and Patrick.

Abstentions (9) – Councillors Aitchison, Bissett, Black, Blackwood, Coombes, Goldie, McLuckie, Nimmo and Reid.

Councillor Ritchie was elected Depute Provost of Falkirk Council.

#### (c) Appointment of Leader of the Council

The Provost sought nominations for the post of Leader of the Council.

Councillor Garner nominated Councillor Meiklejohn.

Councillor Flynn nominated Councillor Nicol.

In terms of Standing Order 22.1, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 30 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Meiklejohn (13) – Provost Coleman; Depute Provost Ritchie; Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Binnie, Bouse, Collie, Garner, Hughes, McCue, Meiklejohn, Murtagh and Spears.

For Councillor Nicol (8) – Councillors Buchanan, Flynn, Grant, Harris, Kerr, Munro, Nicol and Patrick.

Abstentions (9) – Councillors Aitchison, Bissett, Black, Blackwood, Coombes, Goldie, McLuckie, Nimmo and Reid.

Councillor Meiklejohn was elected Leader of Falkirk Council.

#### (d) Appointment of Baillies

The Provost sought nominations for the post of Baillie. There were no nominations.

#### **Decision**

### Council:-

- (1) appointed Councillor Tom Coleman as Provost and continued remuneration for the position to later in the meeting;
- (2) appointed Councillor Ann Ritchie as Depute Provost and continued consideration of remuneration for the position to later in the meeting;
- (3) appointed Councillor Cecil Meiklejohn as Leader of the Council, noting that remuneration for this position was set at £33,857 p.a., and
- (4) agreed not to make any appointment to the position of Baillie.