## VJB4. Central Scotland Valuation Joint Board - membership

The Board considered a report by the Clerk to the which advised of those councillors who had been appointed to the Board following the Local Government Election on 4 May 2017 The composition of the Board was:-

# Falkirk Council (8)

#### Members

# Councillor D Alexander Councillor D Balfour Councillor L Binnie Councillor J Coombes Councillor D Grant Councillor A Nimmo Councillor J Patrick

# Substitutes

- 1. Councillor J Blackwood
- 2. Councillor D Goldie
- 3. to be confirmed
- 4. to be confirmed
- 5. to be confirmed
- 6. to be confirmed
- 7. to be confirmed
- 8. to be confirmed

# **Stirling Council (4)**

#### Members

8. Vacancy

Councillor D Dodds
Councillor D Gibson
Councillor J MacDonald
Councillor J Thomson

#### Substitutes

- 1. Councillor A Berrill
- 2. Councillor M Brisley
- 3. Councillor A MacPherson
- 4. Councillor R Oxburgh

## Clackmannanshire Council (3)

#### Members

Councillor C Holden
Councillor B Mason

Councillor K Earle

# Substitutes

- 1. Councillor M Benny
- 2. to be confirmed
- 3. to be confirmed

It was proposed that the Board establish an Appeals Committee comprising of 3 members (one from each of the constituent councils).

Councillor Holden, Thomson and Nimmo were nominated and appointed, with Councillor Holden as convener

In terms of the Valuation Joint Boards (Scotland) Order 1995, the Board was required to appoint a clerk. Since 1996 the position has been filled by the senior governance officer in Falkirk Council. It was proposed that the Board appoint Colin Moodie, Chief Governance Officer, Falkirk Council as clerk, succeeding Rose Mary Glackin who had retired in March 2017.

# **Decision**

The Board agreed to:-

- (1) establish and appoint Councillors Holden, Nimmo and Thomson to the Appeals Committee; and
- (2) appoint Colin Moodie, Chief Governance Officer, Falkirk Council as clerk to the Board.