EX91. Community Council Elections 2017 Update

The Executive considered a report by the Chief Executive which set out the results of the extended nomination period for those community councils which failed to secure the 2/3 nomination level required to form in November 2017. An extended nomination period ran until 18 December 2017 advertised on the Council website and twitter pages. Banknock, Blackness and Shieldhill & California community councils all formed as a result of the extended nomination period.

Grahamstone, Middlefield and Westfield, and Reddingmuirhead and Wallacestone had secured sufficient nominations to fill 2/3 of their membership, and with Executive approval, could form with the remaining places filled by co-option. Larbert, Stenhousemuir and Torwood would also meet the 2/3 level if 2 late nominations were accepted, the Executive was invited to determine whether or not to accept these nominations.

Following discussion at the meeting of Council on 6 December 2017, the Executive was also invited to consider re-establishing the policy development panel on community councils.

Decision

The Executive:-

- (1) noted the outcome of the extended nomination process for the 2017 community council elections;
- (2) noted the formation of the 3 community councils referred to in paragraph 4.2 with effect from 18 December 2017;
- (3) agreed to permit the formation of the 2 community councils referred to in paragraph 4.3 with the remaining vacancies being filled by co-option;
- (4) agreed to accept the late nominations received in respect of the Larbert, Stenhousemuir and Torwood community council and allow the community council to form with the remaining vacancies being filled by co-option;
- (5) noted that the 8 remaining community councils referred to in paragraph 4.4 have not formed as part of the 2017 nomination process, and
- (6) agreed to re-establish the policy development panel on community councils to conclude its work and consider any further changes necessary to the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils. The membership of the Panel would be 5 with 3 members drawn from the Administration and 2 from the Opposition.