FC17. Motion

Council considered the following motion by Councillor Coombes, seconded by Councillor Bissett:-

Council agrees that any decision made on the stopping up order to close the Bo'ness Road, Grangemouth will be made by full Council in recognition of its importance.

Council then adjourned at 11.30 a.m. to allow members to consider the terms of the motion and reconvened at 12.06 p.m. with all members present as per the sederunt, with the exception of Councillor Goldie who left the meeting.

Councillor Alexander moved the following in substitution for the motion:-

Council notes with concern the attempt by the mover of the motion to treat one particular application differently from accepted normal practice of the authority.

Council recognises the role played by the author of the motion who has participated in a high profile campaign against this particular application for a stopping up order as well as previous related issues.

Council also recognises the potential implications for the authority if the motion is successful as any perceived bias and predetermination positions adopted may lead to one or more of the following scenarios.

Deviation in the treatment of the application may create a perception of bias and encourage the company to take the application directly to Scottish Ministers thus removing some influence and all decision making.

Council therefore agrees to retain the practices of the scheme of delegation on planning matters introduced in 2009 to ensure all applications are dealt with consistently.

Council then adjourned at 12.10 p.m. to allow members to consider the terms of the amendment and reconvened at 12.25 p.m. with all members present as per the sederunt, with the exception of Councillor Goldie.

Councillor Meiklejohn seconded the amendment.

Following discussion and in terms of Standing Order 22.4 (i) a vote was taken by roll call, there being 24 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For the motion (8) – Provost Buchanan, Councillors Aitchison, Bissett, Black, Blackwood, Coombes, Nimmo and Reid.

For the amendment (15) – Councillors Alexander, Balfour, Binnie, Bouse, Coleman, Flynn, Garner, Harris, Hughes, McCue, Meiklejohn, Munro, Murtagh, Nicol and Spears.

Abstain (1) – Depute Provost Ritchie

Decision

Council agreed the amendment.