FC5. Appointment of Provost and Leader of the Council

Council considered a report by the Director of Transformation, Communities and Corporate Services which invited Council to appoint a Provost and a Leader of the Council. Council was also invited to consider whether it wished to appoint a Depute Provost and Baillies.

The Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 required that each Council elected a convener from among its councillors at its first meeting following an ordinary election. In Falkirk the convener of the Council had traditionally been known as the Provost and also performed the role of civic head.

Appointment of the Provost

The Returning Officer sought nominations for the post of Provost.

Councillor Stainbank nominated Councillor Bissett.

Councillor Patrick nominated Councillor Kerr.

In terms of Standing Order 23, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 30 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Bissett (21) – Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Balfour, Binnie, Bissett, Bouse, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Forrest, Garner, Hannah, Kelly, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Nimmo, Paterson, Redmond, Robertson, Sinclair and Stainbank.

For Councillor Kerr (8) – Councillors Brown, Buchanan, Bundy, Flynn, Kerr, Patrick, Ritchie and Spears.

Abstention (1) – Councillor McCabe.

Councillor Bissett was elected Provost of Falkirk Council. Provost Bissett assumed the chair.

Appointment of the Depute Provost

The Provost sought nominations for the post of Depute Provost.

Councillor Meiklejohn nominated Councillor Balfour.

Councillor Flynn nominated Councillor Kerr.

Councillor Spears nominated Councillor McCabe.

Councillor Stainbank nominated Councillor Nimmo.

In terms of Standing Order 23, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 30 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Balfour (12) – Councillors Balfour, Binnie, Bouse, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Forrest, Garner, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Robertson and Sinclair.

For Councillor Kerr (6) – Councillors Brown, Buchanan, Bundy, Flynn, Kerr and Patrick.

For Councillor McCabe (3) – Councillors McCabe, Ritchie and Spears.

For Councillor Nimmo (9) – Provost Bissett; and Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Hannah, Kelly, Nimmo, Paterson, Redmond and Stainbank.

As no candidate had achieved an overall majority the candidate who received the lowest number of votes, Councillor McCabe, was struck out and a fresh vote taken between the remaining three candidates.

In terms of Standing Order 23, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 30 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Balfour (12) – Councillors Balfour, Binnie, Bouse, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Forrest, Garner, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Robertson and Sinclair.

For Councillor Kerr (8) – Councillors Brown, Buchanan, Bundy, Flynn, Kerr, Patrick, Ritchie and Spears.

For Councillor Nimmo (9) – Provost Bissett; and Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Hannah, Kelly, Nimmo, Paterson, Redmond and Stainbank.

Abstention (1) - Councillor McCabe.

As no candidate had achieved an overall majority the candidate who received the lowest number of votes, Councillor Kerr, was struck out. A further vote was taken between the remaining two candidates.

Council adjourned at 10.20am and reconvened at 10.25am with all members present as per the sederunt.

In terms of Standing Order 23, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 30 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Balfour (12) – Councillors Balfour, Binnie, Bouse, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Forrest, Garner, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Robertson and Sinclair.

For Councillor Nimmo (11) – Provost Bissett; and Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Buchanan, Hannah, Kelly, Nimmo, Paterson, Redmond, Ritchie and Stainbank.

Abstentions (7) – Councillors Brown, Bundy, Flynn, Kerr, McCabe, Patrick and Spears.

Councillor Balfour was elected Depute Provost of Falkirk Council.

Appointment of Leader of the Council

The Provost sought nominations for the post of Leader of the Council.

Councillor Garner nominated Councillor Meiklejohn.

Councillor Brown nominated Councillor Kerr.

In terms of Standing Order 23, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 30 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For Councillor Meiklejohn (12) – Depute Provost Balfour; and Councillors Binnie, Bouse, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Forrest, Garner, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Robertson and Sinclair.

For Councillor Kerr (5) – Councillors Brown, Buchanan, Bundy, Flynn and Kerr.

Abstentions (13) – Provost Bissett; and Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Hannah, Kelly, McCabe, Nimmo, Paterson, Patrick, Redmond, Ritchie, Spears and Stainbank.

Councillor Meiklejohn was elected Leader of Falkirk Council.

Appointment of Baillies

The Provost sought nominations for the post of Baillie. There were no nominations.

Decision

Council:-

- (1) appointed Councillor Bissett as Provost and continued remuneration for the position to later in the meeting;
- (2) appointed Councillor Balfour as Depute Provost and continued consideration of remuneration for the position to later in the meeting;
- (3) appointed Councillor Meiklejohn as Leader of the Council, noting that remuneration for the position was set at £39,148 p.a., and
- (4) agreed to make no appointments to the position of Baillie.