(d) Convenor Remuneration

Councillor Spears, seconded by Councillor McCabe, moved that:-

Council acknowledges implementation of the Local Governance (Scotland) Act 2004 (Remuneration) Regulations 2007 scheme should be fair, equitable and applied in an open and transparent way. Council will recall that when the current settlement was agreed, there was concern among members that some roles, in particular the Scrutiny Convener and Champions, were not remunerated.

Council is asked to endorse the immediate remuneration of Scrutiny. Council further agrees to establish a short life working group with one representative from each group, supported by officers, to consider the current scheme and make recommendations that would improve its application.

As an amendment, Councillor Hannah, seconded by Councillor Stainbank, moved the terms of motion subject to the following alterations:-

Delete sentence:-

"Council is asked to endorse the immediate remuneration of Scrutiny." and in the following sentence delete "further".

In terms of Standing order 22.1, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 27 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For the motion (2) – Councillors McCabe and Spears.

For the amendment (9) – Provost Bissett and Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Hannah, Kelly, Paterson, Ritchie and Stainbank.

Abstentions (16) – Depute Provost Balfour and Councillors Binnie, Bouse, Bundy, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Flynn, Forrest, Garner, Kerr, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Patrick, Robertson and Sinclair.

The amendment was carried and became the substantive motion. The Provost noted that there was not general agreement on this. A vote was then taken for or against the substantive motion.

In terms of Standing order 22.1, the vote was taken by roll call, there being 27 members present with voting as undernoted:-

For the substantive motion (10) – Provost Bissett and Councillors Aitchison, Anslow, Hannah, Kelly, Paterson, Redmond, Ritchie, Spears and Stainbank.

Against the substantive motion (16) – Depute Provost Balfour and Councillors Binnie, Bouse, Bundy, Collie, Deakin, Devine, Flynn, Forrest, Garner, Kerr, Meiklejohn, Murtagh, Patrick, Robertson and Sinclair.

Abstention (1) – Councillor McCabe.

Decision

Council did not agree the substantive motion.