FALKIRK COUNCIL

Subject: ELECTION OF FALKIRK COUNCILLORS

Meeting: FALKIRK COUNCIL

Date: 18 May 2007

Author: RETURNING OFFICER

1. INTRODUCTION

1.1 On 3 May 2007, ordinary Elections were held in respect of the 9 wards of Falkirk Council.

2. RESULTS OF ELECTIONS

2.1 The undernoted Councillors stand elected to Falkirk Council following the elections which took place on 3 May 2007.

	Ward	Councillor	Description
1. Bo	Bo'ness and Blackness	H Constable I Constable	SNP SNP
		A Mahoney	Labour
2.	Grangemouth	A Black	Labour
		A MacDonald	SNP
		A McNeill	Labour
		R Spears	Independent
3.	Denny and Banknock	J Blackwood	Labour
		J McNally	SNP
		M Oliver	SNP
		A Waddell	Independent
4.	Carse, Kinnaird and Tryst	S Carleschi	SNP
		L Kenna	SNP
		C MacDonald	Labour
		C Martin	Labour
5.	Bonnybridge and Larbert	W Buchanan	Independent
		T Coleman	SNP
		L Gow	Labour
6.	Falkirk North	D Alexander	SNP
		C R Martin	Labour
		C Meiklejohn	SNP
		P Reid	Labour

7.	Falkirk South	G Goldie	Labour
		J Lemmetti	Labour
		J Patrick	Conservative
		G Thomson	SNP
8.	Lower Braes	S Jackson	SNP
		M Nicol	Conservative
		A Nimmo	Labour
9.	Upper Braes	S Fry	Labour
		G Hughes	SNP
		J McLuckie	Labou r

3. POLITICAL BALANCE OF THE COUNCIL

3.1 Based on the foregoing results the political balance of the Council is as follows:-

Labour	14
Scottish National Party (SNP)	13
Conservative	2
Non-aligned Independent	1 (x3)

4. **RECOMMENDATIONS**

4.1 It is recommended that Council notes the results of the Elections held on 3 May 2007 and the political balance of the Council.

•••••	•••
Returning Officer	

Date: 4 May 2007

Contact Officer: Iain Tough, ext 6110