Header image for article 5254

Eight local primary schools and one high school have completed a pioneering education initiative developed to encourage digital learning amongst children.

On September 17th the following schools were recognised by Education Scotland for their commitment to digital skills promotion in the classroom:

  • Bowhouse Primary School
  • California Primary School
  • Carmuirs Primary School
  • Drumbowie Primary School
  • Kinnaird Primary
  • Maddiston Primary
  • St Bernadette’s Primary School
  • Wallacestone Primary School
  • St Mungo’s High School

Each school was presented with a Digital Schools Awards certificate at the largest ever national Digital Schools Awards event held in Falkirk at St Mungo’s High School. A total of 114 schools were officially recognised on the day.

All Falkirk Council schools have signed up to undertake the Digital Schools Awards process, a nationally recognised programme developed in collaboration with Education Scotland and industry titans HP and Microsoft. To date 13 have achieved the award - our recent winners and Larbert High School, Avonbridge Primary, Bankier Primary, and Kinneil Primary

To achieve Digital Schools Awards accreditation, schools are required to self-assess their developments in digital technology under common practice areas of Leadership and Vision, Digital Technology for Learning and Teaching, School Culture, Professional Development and Resources and Infrastructure. The self-assessment is then externally moderated by an independent Digital Expert visiting each school and meeting with pupils, staff and parents.

The programme promotes skills such as digital innovation and creativity; computational thinking; advances in STEM; the use of digital technology to promote higher order thinking skills; support for digital equity and access and the need for cyber resilience.  

Carmuirs pupils with their award

Pictured: Pupils from St Mungo's (main) and Carmuirs (above) with their award.