Falkirk Council

Falkirk Council
Telephone: 01324 506070

The Council

Mary Pitcaithly OBE
Chief Executive,
Mary Pitcaithly OBE
Falkirk Council is a unitary authority which provides all local government services for the Falkirk Council area. Covering 112 square miles, it has a population of 151,570 and extends from Banknock in the west to Blackness in the east and from South Alloa in the North as far as Limerigg in the south.

The area contains varied countryside, including areas of considerable landscape quality. It also contains the port of Grangemouth and depends for its prosperity on a broad industrial base which includes sizeable industrial areas in Falkirk and Grangemouth.

Council Headquarters

The Council Headquarters are located in Falkirk but there are many service points throughout the area. The Council has in the region of 7,000 employees making it one of the largest employers in the area and has a net council general fund expenditure of £344.8 million for 2012/2013.

Falkirk Council’s aim is to improve the quality of life for local people by working with all communities, sectors and groups to deliver high quality services which are accessible, accountable, responsive and provide value for money.

The Council is developing an effective policy of decentralisation and is totally committed to consultation and partnership with the community to ensure that high standards of service delivery are achieved and maintained. There are 32 councillors in 9 wards of 3 or 4 members each. 

The Council is controlled by a Labour/Conservative/Independent coalition.

Related Pages
Related Links
Contact Us
  • By Post: 

    Falkirk Council

    Municipal Buildings

    West Bridge Street

    FK1 5RS

  • By Telephone:
    01324 506070
  • By Fax
    01324 506061
  • By Email